Apple’s basic Messages app has received some nice upgrades in iOS 16. One of them is the capability to retrieve deleted conversational communications. Read on to see how it works.
The “Recently Deleted” area of the Messages app in iOS 16 by Apple collects all of the text messages you’ve deleted in the last 30 days. This implies that you may now restore a message that you unintentionally deleted directly from the Messages app UI.
Here’s how to restore a deleted message on an iPhone or iPad running iOS 16 or iPadOS 16.
- Go to the main Messages screen in the Messages app to access filters like “Known Senders” and “Unknown Senders.”
- Select Recently Deleted.
- A blue check mark will show up next to each of the texts you wish to restore when you tap them. (Note that the number of days before automated deletion is shown for each communication.)
- In the bottom right corner of the screen, tap Recover.
- To confirm, click Recover Messages on the pop-over.
Conversations display how many days are left until deletion, according to Apple. “Messages will be permanently erased after that point. It might take as long as 40 days.
For many years, Apple has included a “Recently Deleted” function in the Photos app. You may use Face ID, Touch ID, or your password to lock the “Recently Deleted” category in the Photos app. In reality, the category will be closed by default as of iOS 16. In Messages, there are no options for locking the “Recently Deleted” section.
Therefore, beginning with iOS 16 this year, make sure to go to the “Recently Deleted” area and delete everything from there as well if you want to make sure a message or thread is really gone for good.
All there is to it is that. By pressing messages and then choosing Erase in the bottom-left corner, you may permanently delete them from the same “Recently Deleted” menu. Be aware that it can take up to 40 days for an email to be deleted permanently from Apple’s servers.