It is possible for you to stop participating in a group message. Learn how to muffle group notifications on an iPhone, iPad, or iPod touch or send a group message.
It is convenient for both work and play to send texts to a group of people at once. However, there is never a shortage of group text messages we’d rather avoid.
Group messages can be left with iMessage to 3 or more people.
In case you leave a group message, you won’t be able to join unless you are re-accepted by a group member.
Making an iMessage group text
You can leave a group message by clicking on it
You can select a group by clicking its name
Pressing the Info button will provide you with additional information
Please click Leave Conversation after you have scrolled down
Users of iMessage only need to be a part of the group chat. Even if just one member uses MMS/SMS, such as an Android user, you will no longer be able to leave the group.
However, you don’t want your iPhone constantly beeping, you don’t want to leave the group chat, and you may not wish to deal with constant pings from your iPhone.
Both situations will benefit from group chat notifications that are mute. Changing the alerts allows you to view chat at any time without being interrupted by sound or banners.
What to do when a group message is muted
TEXT IS EDITED AFTER IT IS OPENED
The group text will appear once you tap it
Click on Info to learn more
Select Hide Alerts from the list after scrolling down
In the Messages app, you’ll notice a moon icon next to the conversation if you have Hide Alerts turned on. You can start receiving alerts again anytime you’d like.